Three winters

Tena Štivičić


Directed by Ivica Buljan

Set designer: Aleksandar Denić, Costume designer: Ana Savić Gecan, Composer: Mitja Vrhovnik Smrekar, Lighting designer: Sonda 4, Video: Toni Soprano, Dramaturge: Mirna Rustemović, 

Guest performance from HNK, Zagreb, Croatia

In the winter of 1945, a mother, a daughter with her husband and new-born baby girl settle in the villa of an emigrant of the Independent State of Croatia, thanks to the privilege of Communist Party membership. The house at first appears empty, but conceals a left-over tenant and an old acquaintance of the mother. In the winter of 1990, the Kos family gathers in the house for a wake. It is the eve of the Homeland War and the new state is still in its infancy. Old divisions and controversies surface again, while the new generation raises new issues. In the winter of 2011, wedding preparations are under way and the Kos family is together once again. At the dawn of entry into the European Union, some family chapters are being closed and the long silences interrupted, while the new tycoons led only by the ideology of capital are determining the destiny of the household in which years and memories are still being constructed…

Tena Štivičić has courageously presented some crucial moments from her personal and Croatia’s history. The play premiered in London to great success, and won the prestigious Susan Smith Blackburn Prize in New York. Its production at the Croatian National Theatre in Zagreb, directed by Ivica Buljan, has been received with universal enthusiasm, becoming a genuine hit.


Maša Kos – Ksenija Marinković
Vladimir (Vlado) Kos – Dragan Despot
Alisa Kos – Jadranka Đokić
Lucija Kos – Luca Anić
Dunja Kralj – Barbara Vicković
Marko Horvat – Mislav Čavajda


Maša Kos – Ksenija Marinković
Dunja Kralj – Barbara Vicković
Vladimir Kos – Dragan Despot
Švabo (Karlo Dolinar)  – Bojan Navojec
Karolina Amruš  –  Nina Violić
Igor Marević – Franjo Kuhar
Aleksandar Kralj  – Siniša Popović


Ruža Kralj Mada Peršić
Aleksandar Kralj – Silvio Vovk
Monika Vinter – Alma Prica
Karolina Amruš – Nina Violić
Marinko  – Slavko Juraga


Članovi baleta: Rieka SUZUKI, Simon YOSHIDA


Premiere: 30 April 2016

Odštampajte Print